buy celebrex online


It was a succesful night for the Stags at the Birmingham Sports Awards last night which saw the Club and its members named as the winners in five out of the 13 awards.

Volunteer of the Year

First to take the stage to collect his award was Stuart Paul as Volunteer of the year.



Stuart works tirelessly for the Club arranging our fixtures and officiating at most of them and he is to be found in the shop every Club night. In addition as one of the top officials in the UK Stuart was part of the officials team at both the World Para Championships and World Championships in London, so this was a very well deserved award.








Amateur Sportswoman of the Year

Sarah McDonald was the next winner in the Amateur Sportswoman if the year category, a reflection of her excellent season in which she won the British indoor 1500m title and represented GB & NI at the European Indoor Championships.

Club of the Year

Birchfield was then delighted to be named as Club of th Year. Presenting the award to President Norma Blaine MBE, Dave Lawrence, Andy Paul and a number of our senior athletes was Birchfield Olympian Derek Redmond. This award is for all areas of the Club from our road running team who organise the successful,Poppy Run, to our senior men and women’s teams.


Coach of the Year

It wasn’t just athletes that were honoured but those that help them achieve their success. Tony Hadley, who has coached many international 400m runners was delighted to win this category. Tony is also head coach at the forthcoming Commonwealth Games on the Gold Coast in Australia and has been lead coach for sprints at England Athletics for a number of years.



Professional Sportsman of the Year

One of the most prestigious awards was Professional Sportsman of the Year which was won by our 200m runner, Danny Talbot. Danny has continued to improve and 2017 has seen him run a number of personal bests and win gold in the 4x100m relay at the recent world championships.


It was a fantastic night for the Club reflecting the success across all areas and we look forward to more success in 2018.

Comments are closed.